Mississippi Adoption Laws and Policies

Who Can Adopt in Mississippi?

A single adult or a married couple jointly may adopt. The adopting parent(s) must reside in Mississippi for 6 consecutive months before petitioning to adopt.

Domestic Adoption Laws in Mississippi

Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? Yes.

Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? Yes.

Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? An agency or attorney licensed by the state may serve as an adoption facilitator, but no payment outside of fees for reasonable services may be made.

What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Anything reasonably connected with the mother’s pregnancy, the birth of the child, or the adoption process.

Is there a putative father registry? No.

When can consent to adoption be granted? 72 hours after birth.

When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? Upon signing.

Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Not addressed in state statutes.

International Adoption Laws in Mississippi

Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Not addressed in state statutes.

Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Not addressed in state statutes.

When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The Bureau of Vital Statistics will issue a birth certificate to any child readopted in a Mississippi court upon receipt of a copy of the adoption decree.

Adoption From Foster Care in Mississippi

Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, subsidies are available for a special needs child, who is defined as having at least one of the following: 6 years or older, member of a sibling group of 2 or more children being placed together, has a physical, mental, developmental, emotional, or mental condition, has a history of abuse. Subsidies begin at adoption placement.

Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Mississippi? http://www.mdhs.state.ms.us/family-childrens-services/programs/adopt-a-child

Mississippi Adoption Unit

Program Manager: Patricia Williams

Mississippi Department of Human Services
750 North State Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39205
Phone: (601) 359-4280
Fax: (601) 359-4363


DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but The Current Initiative cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in November 2014.

(Source: https://www.adoptivefamilies.com/how-to-adopt/mississippi-adoption-laws-policies/)