Any adult, including a foster parent, may adopt as long as s/he is 25 years or older or married and living with his/her spouse, at least 10 years older than the adoptee, a resident of Georgia for 6 months or more, and financially, physically, and mentally prepared to become an adoptive parent.
Can adoptive parents advertise for birth parents? No.
Can out-of-state residents finalize an adoption? No.
Can adopting parents use an adoption facilitator or another paid intermediary? Yes, but adopting parents may only use a child-placing agency that is recognized by the state.
What birth parent expenses may be paid, and in what time period? Medical, legal, with affidavit. Reasonable living expenses if licensed agency adoption.
Is there a putative father registry? Yes.
When can consent to adoption be granted? In agency cases, 24 hours after birth. In private cases, any time after birth.
When does consent become irrevocable? If consent is revoked, is return to birth parent automatic? 10 days after signing; if the 10th day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, then period extends to next business day. Return generally automatic.
Are post-adoption contact agreements legally enforceable? Not addressed in state statutes.
Is a foreign adoption decree automatically recognized by the state? Yes, a decree of court by any court within or outside of the U.S. is recognized by Georgia as long as the adoption decree is issued under due process of law.
Can parents readopt in this state? Is it mandatory? Yes, adopting parents may readopt in Georgia as long as the foreign adoption decree is entered by a Georgia court, and the child is granted a visa from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.
When will a U.S. birth certificate be issued? The State Registrar will issue a birth certificate upon receipt of the adoption report from the court decreeing the adoption and proof of the child’s date and place of birth.
Are adoption subsidies available? When do they start and how long do they last? Yes, subsidies are available for a special needs child, who is defined as having at least one of the following: has a physical, mental, or emotional condition as diagnosed by a professional, member of a sibling group of 2 or more children being placed together, has been in the care of a public or private agency or a foster parent for more than twenty-four months in a row. In addition, the child must be in the custody of the Georgia Dept. of Human Services. Subsidies start at adoption placement.
Where can I learn more about the process of adopting a child from foster care in Georgia?
Program Manager: Deborah BurrusGeorgia Department of Human Resources
DISCLAIMER: The state laws and policies outlined above are offered to readers only for general information and do not constitute legal advice. Furthermore, the state laws were accurate at the time of compilation, but The Current Initiative cannot guarantee that there have been no subsequent changes or revisions to the laws. Please do not rely on the information above without first consulting an adoption attorney licensed in your state. Updated in November 2014.